Samy Vellu now a ‘Tun’, as is Michael Chen

PUTRAJAYA, 9 Sept 2017: 

Three of the country’s top figures head the list of 1,518 recipients of federal awards, honours and medals in conjunction with the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V’s birthday celebration today.

The three – chief justice Tan Sri Md Raus Sharif and two former Cabinet ministers, Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu and Tan Sri Michael Chen Wing Sum – were conferred the Seri Setia Mahkota (SSM) award, which carries the title “Tun”.

Md Raus was appointed chief justice for three years effective Aug 4 this year.

Samy Vellu, who is currently the Special Envoy to India and South Asia for Infrastructure, was formerly the Works Minister, while Michael Chen had served as Minister of Housing, Local Government and New Villages.

A total of 51 received the ‘Tan Sri’ titles – with three getting the Panglima Mangku Besar (PMN) award.

They are the Court of Appeal president Tan Sri Zulkefli Ahmad Makinudin, Malaysian Armed Forces chief Tan Sri Raja Mohamed Affandi Raja Mohamed Noor and the newly-appointed Inspector-General of Police, Datuk Seri Mohamad Fuzi Harun.

A total of 48 individuals were awarded the Panglima Setia Mahkota (PSM) award which also carries the title ‘Tan Sri’ – including director-general of the Implementation Coordination Unit (ICU) of the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Zaki Ansore Mohd Yusof, Federal Court Judge Datuk Wira Aziah Ali, Election Commission chairman (EC) Datuk Seri Che Mohd Hashim Abdullah and Public Service director-general Datuk Seri Zainal Rahim Seman.

Apart from Keeper of the Rulers’ Seal Datuk Seri Syed Danial Syed Ahmad, also conferred the award are former ICU director-general Datuk Seri Dr Rahamat Bivi Yusoff;  Engku Temenggong of Kelantan Datuk Tengku Mohamad Rizam Tengku Abdul Aziz; and Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) chief commissioner Datuk Dzulkifli Ahmad.

Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Seri Musa Aman is among the recipients of the award for the political organisation category, which also listed two UMNO veterans Datuk Seri Dr Siti Zaharah Sulaiman and Datuk Seri Dr Suleiman Mohamed.

Also receiving the award are Dewan Negara president Datuk Seri S. Vigneswaran; MIC chairman Datuk Rajoo Dasari @ Govindasamy; and former MCA leader Datuk Tee Cheng York @ Tee How.

For the local government and statutory body category, the recipients are Bank Negara governor Datuk Muhammad Ibrahim; Malaysian Rubber Board chairman Datuk Seri Dr Muhammad Leo Michael Toyad Abdullah; Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) chairman Datuk Seri Dr Halim Shafie; MCMC secretary-general Datuk Seri Sharifah Zarah Syed Ahmad; Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) chief Datuk Dzulkifli Ahmad; Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia vice-chancellor Prof Datuk Dr Noor Azlan Ghazali and Kuala Lumpur mayor Datuk Mhd Amin Nordin Abd Aziz.

Two commanders in ATM were also conferred the  PSM award. They are Armed Forces chief General Datuk Seri Zulkiple Kassim and Air Force chief General Datuk Seri Affendi Buang.

Twenty individuals from private and voluntary organisations, as well as associations were also awarded the PSM. The are Albukhary Foundation vice-executive chairman Datuk Seri Ismail Yusof; Safuan Group Bhd executive chairman Datuk Mat Shah Sapuan; Ahmad Zaki Resources Bhd deputy executive chairman Datuk Seri Wan Zaki Wan Muda; and Binary University Sdn Bhd executive chairman Datuk Prof Joseph Adaikalam.

Also conferred the PSM are  Press Metal Bhd group executive chief officer Datuk Koon Poh Keong; K & N Kenanga Holdings Bhd chairman Datuk Tengku Noor Zakiah Tengku Ismail; Globaltec Formation Bhd  chairman Datuk Seri Dr Goh Tian Chuan; Sunsuria Bhd chairman Datuk Ter Leong Yap; ENRA Group Bhd deputy executive chairman Datuk Kamaluddin Abdullah; vice-president of the Association of Malaysian Malay Vehicle Importers and Traders Datuk Seri Abg Khalid Abg Marzuki; Petroliam Nasional Bhd president and chief executive officer Datuk Wan Zulkiflee Wan Ariffin;  HSS Engineers Bhd executive director Datuk Seri S. Kunasingam; and Akisama group managing director Datuk Chang Koon Wah.

Also in the list are Iswarabena Sdn Bhd managing irector Datuk Seri S. Selvarajoo; Pelita Samudera Pertama (M) Sdn Bhd managing director Datuk D. Murugan; Mangkubumi Sdn Bhd group executive chairman Datuk Seri Zainudin Karjan; Kossan Rubber Industries Bhd managing director Datuk Lim Kuang Sia; Ekovest Sdn Bhd managing director Datuk Seri Lim Keng Cheng; Only World Group Holdings Bhd managing director and chief executive officer Datuk Seri Koh Cheng Keong; Ideal Property Development Sdn Bhd managing director Datuk Ooi Kee Liang; and Tanah Permai Sdn Bhd executive chairman Datuk Lim Pau Chang.

Other recipients are Big C Supercenter Public Company Ltd chairman Chareon Sirivadhanabhakdi; Western Digital (M) Sdn Bhd president and chief executive officer Steve Miligan; Malaysia Earl International Development Sdn Bhd president Datuk Seri Dr Yuhao Aixinjueluo; XINYI Glass Holding LTD chief executive officer Datuk Gerry Tung Ching Sai; and Xin Wang International Group  chief executive officer Datuk Chuang Chou-Wen.

A total of 51 individuals received the Panglima Jasa Negara (PJN) award which carries the title “Datuk”, among them High Court Judge Stephen Chung Hian Guan, MACC deputy chief commissioner (Operations) Datuk Azam Baki, Multimedia Development Corporation chief executive officer Datuk Yasmin Mahmood, CUEPACS president Datuk Azih Muda and Daihatsu Motor Co Ltd director Shigeharu Toda.

National badminton and squash icons Datuk Lee Chong Wei and Datuk Nicol Ann David were also awarded the PJN.

The Prime Minister’s Department’s Constitutional and Intergovernmental Relations Division secretary Dr Farizah Ahmad is among the eight recipients of the Panglima Setia Diraja (PSD) Award which also carries the title “Datuk”.

Other recipients of the PSD award are Waz Lian Group executive chairman Ng Soon Hong; Siemens Malaysia president and chief executive officer Prakash Chandran Madhu Sudanan; Negara Mining Sdn Bhd executive chairman Lam Yin Chon and Chief Secretary to the Government’s senior private secretary Datuk Norazman Ayob.

In addition, 26 individuals received the Johan Mangku Negara (JMN) award, while another 86 received the Johan Setia Mahkota (JSM) award.

There were a total of 250 recipients of the Bintang Kesatria Mangku Negara (KMN) medal including five sporting figures.

They are national paralympic athletic head coach R. Jaganathan, Paralympic sprinter Mohamad Ridzuan Mohamad Puzi, keirin world champion Mohd Azizulhasni Awang, Paralympic shot-putter Muhammad Ziyad Zolkefli and Paralympic long jumper Abdul Latif Romly.

Meanwhile, 11 individuals received the Bintang Kesatria Di Raja (KSD),  Bintang Ahli Mangku Negara (AMN) medal (412),  Pingat Pangkuan Negara (PPN) (581) and Bintang Bentara Setia Di Raja (BSD) (37).

There were two recipients of the Panglima Gagah Berani (PGB) medal, namely former Special Branch deputy director II Datuk Dr Leong Chee Woh and former Special Task Force squadron commander Md Radzi Md Isa.

– Bernama

Leave a Reply