MCO day 460: Daily new Covid-19 cases at 5,293 & another 60 deaths

PUTRAJAYA, 20 June 2021:

Almost three weeks into the latest nationwide lockdown, daily additions of Covid-19 infections continue to remain high with 5,293 cases reported over the past 24 hours – raising Malaysia’s tally just shy of the 700,000 mark with 696,408 infections today.

There were also more variants of concern detected for the period June 11 – 19. There were 14 Beta (B.1.351) variant cases in Sabah (3), Selangor (3), Terengganu (3), Kedah (2), Johor (1), Kelantan (1) and Perak (1); plus eight Delta (B.1.617.2) variants cases in Johor (2), Labuan (2), Negeri Sembilan (2), Penang (1) and Perlis (1).

The national Covid-19 hotspot remains the Klang Valley  Рin Selangor (1,680), Negeri Sembilan (693) and Kuala Lumpur (379).

Other hotspot states are Sarawak (661), Johor (627),Perak (205), Melaka (183), Kedah (170), Kelantan (167), Sabah (163), Labuan (156) and Penang (114).

The remainng four states with fewer than 100 new Covid-19 positives are Perlis (2), Putrajaya (4), Terengganu (12) and Pahang (77).

There were 3 Malaysians among the seven imported cases, local transmissions are seeing more foreigners infected with 1,392 (26.3%) cases and 3,894 citizens (73.7%).

Today’s 5,941 discharges outpaced new positives as total recoveries rose to 628,185 (90.2%), active cases continued the downtrend to 63,815 as did patients at intensive care units at 880, but those needing respirators remained high at 454.

Another 60 fatalities brought the death toll to  4,408(0.63%) Рwith casualties in Selangor (20), Johor (12), Negeri Sembilan (11), Kuala Lumpur (4), Labuan (4), Perak (2), Sabah (2), Sarawak (2), Kedah (1), Pahang (1) and Penang (1). Sadly, another seven Covid-19 patients died at home with bodies brought in dead to hospitals in Selangor (4), Johor (1), Labuan (1) and Sabah (1).

Among the 19 new clusters today, one was detention related in Melaka (Tembok Sungai Udang 2) and two high-risk groups in Negeri Sembilan (Jalan Kemboja Tujuh) and Sarawak (Iris Garden); plus five community clusters in Kelantan (Kampung Pulau Panjang and Kampung Tok Kamis), Sabah (Kampung Nelayan Tengah), Sarawak (Lorong Perlis Empat Mirir) and terengganu (Beladau Selat).

The remaining 11 workplace clusters are in Kelantan (Kampung Kubang Panjang), Negeri Sembilan (Industri Lukut Tiga), Pahang (Indera Mahkota 16 and Lorong Empat Jerantut), Penang (Tapak Bina Jalan Seri Tanjung Pinang), Sabah (Jalan Bundusan KK) and Selangor (Industri Lebuh Satu Klang, Industri Meranti Dua Sepang, Industri Solok Waja Satu Klang, Tapak Bina Perindustrian Olak Lempit Kuala Langant and Tapak Bina Persiaran Hamidiah Hulu Langat).

The 834 active clusters out of 2,623 identified todate contributed 1,442 of today’s new Covid-19 cases, another 2,534 came from close contact screening and 1,310 from other screenings.