Malaysia opens northern border CIQ for commercial vehicles

KUALA LUMPUR, 30 June 2020:

The Special Ministerial Meeting on the implementation of Movement Control Order (MCO) has decided to open the Immigration, Customs, Quarantine and Security Complex (ICQS) at Padang Besar, Perlis and Durian Burung, Kedah.

Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob however said they to be opened only to commercial trading and cargo vehicles.

“The agencies involved had been informed of the decision for further action,” he said in a statement today.

Ismail Sabri also said the meeting also agreed that Malaysians who are in Singapore and wished to return to home do not need to apply for MyPass permit from the Malaysian High Commission.

Meanwhile, Malaysia Airports Holdings Bhd (MAHB) is ready to accommodate travel bubble when the government agrees to reopen its international borders, said group chief executive officer Datuk Mohd Shukrie Mohd Salleh.

He said the airport operator did not stop its operations at all throughout the pandemic and had implemented additional precautionary measures to ensure the safety of passengers – including placing thermal scanners at airport, compulsory face masks usage and limited entry and exit points at KL International Airport (KLIA).

“We have been operating. It’s just that the number of flights has been reduced to below 5%. Even at the peak of the pandemic, we were still processing around 5,000 to 10,000 passengers a day through KLIA with a couple of flights meant to repatriate our people from around the world.

“We have been handling (the traffic), the only thing now is how to scale-up the real bottleneck going forward. (What) we need to ensure that we are fully ready is for Covid-19 test results,” he said during a media briefing after MAHB’s annual general meeting today.

Mohd Shukrie said the test would usually took a couple of hours to be ready, which could effect the smoothness of the entire passenger traffic at the airport.

Malaysia is considering implementing ‘travel bubble’s with six countries – namely Singapore, Brunei, Australia, New Zealand, Japan and South Korea.

The decision, however, has not being finalised yet as agreements on the mutual standard operating procedures with these countries are still in discussion.

– Bernama